Thursday, October 22, 2020

Winners of the 2018 short story competition

Better late than never, SA Horrorfest Bloody Parchment is proud to (finally) announce the winners of the 2018 short story competition. We were able to secure the opinions of such literary luminaries as Efemia Chela, Suyi Davies Okungbowa, Toby Bennett, Mame Bougouma Diene, Henrietta Rose-Innes, Ivor W Hartmann, and Hannah Onoguwe, who helped decide which stories made the final pick.

So, without further ado, first place goes to Stuart Olver, for his short story "At the Mountain's Dying", with joint second place going to Eamonn Naidoo for his short story "The Moth" and Stephen McQuiggan for his short story "Gant's Shortcut".

Our finalists, who have made the cut for the anthology include (in no particular order) Mike Sharlow, Dave de Burgh, Edward Ahern, Janice Gardiner-Atkinson, Mark Towse, Sergio Pereira, SJ Lucas, and Vanessa Buys.



  1. Kickass news, thanks, Nerine! :) And thank you to the judges for offering up their time for this. :) Looking forward to any edits and reading the anthology!

  2. Beyond excited! Thanks for the awesome Friday news, and congratulations to all the successful entrants.